Tuas West Extension Station Naming Exercise‏

08 January 2012

This is my suggestions for the 4 East-West MRT Line Tuas West Extension stations.

For more information: LTA News Release
Avenues to send in suggestions: http://talk2lta.lta.gov.sg

Working Station Name: Tuas
Suggested Station Name: Gul
Rationale: It is at the border of Gul Industrial Sector. This station will be an interchange with the proposed Tuas South Branch Line. Hence the name needs to be unique. By naming this station "Gul" could reduce the possible confusion with the other 3 stations (or more future Tuas South stations), which are all within Tuas Industrial Estate.

Working Station Name: Tuas Crescent
Suggested Station Name: Tuas
Rationale: This station is at the geographic centre of Tuas Industrial Estate. Furthermore this station is located near to the defunct Tuas Fishing Village.

Working Station Name: Tuas West
Suggested Station Name: Bajau
Rationale: Before massive land reclamation in the 1980s, the vicinity was the coastline known as Tanjong Bajau.

Working Station Name: Tuas Link
Suggested Station Name: Second Link
Rationale: It is at the vicinity of Second Link (Tuas Checkpoint), a well established landmark. By naming this station "Second Link" could reduce the possible confusion with the other 3 (or more future) stations, which are all within Tuas Industrial Estate.


Tuas West Extension Station Naming Exercise‏   © 文彬 2004~2012. All rights reserved.

Renovation 2011 (11.12.11)

11 December 2011

Hi Followers,

First of all, thank you for your patient wait during this 'renovation period'.

From 11 December 2011, “Go Discover” has officially been renamed as “M.a.p.”. This is to illustrate the relationship that “Go Discover” is the predecessor project of my degree Final Year Project (FYP) “M.a.p.”; and the introduction of "My Memories" and "My Imagination" sections for each district.

As of 11.12.11, I have completed revising the following section:
1. Editing the "Geography" section for all districts.
2. Re-defining the boundaries of neighbourhoods for all districts.

1. Compile the "Statistics" for each district. (31.12.11)
2. Writes the "Abstract" for each district. (31.12.11)
3. Edit the "Toponymics" for each district. (31.12.11)
4. Edit the "History" for each district. (31.3.12)
5. Upload pictures for each district. (31.5.12)
6. Drawing of Singapore Map (31.5.12)
7. Drawing of Town Map for each district (31.5.12)
8. Writes detailed description for each neighbourhood for each district. (31.7.12)
9. Writes "My Memories" for each district. (31.7.12)
10. Draw maps from "My Imagination" for each district. (31.7.12)

The expected date of completion for the 3rd Edition of "M.a.p." will be 31 July 2012. Do hope you are anticipating for a better change.

Yours Sincerely,
Boon Ping

Renovation 2011 (11.12.11)   © 文彬 2004~2012. All rights reserved.

Singapore Districts: Contents

Singapore Districts (in alphabetical order)
Ang Mo Kio
Bukit Batok
Bukit Merah
Bukit Panjang
Bukit Timah
Choa Chu Kang
Marine Parade
Pasir Ris
Singapore City
Toa Payoh

New Town (in chronological order)
1st (1953): Queenstown
2nd (1964): Toa Payoh
3rd (1972): Telok Blangah (renamed as Bukit Merah)
4th (1970): Woodlands
5th (1972): Bedok
6th* (1973): Ang Mo Kio
7th (1974): Clementi
8th (1979): Yishun
9th (1979): Hougang
10th^ (1979): Jurong
11th (1979): Tampines
12th (1980): Bukit Batok
13th (1982): Serangoon
14th (1983): Bishan
15th (1984): Bukit Panjang
16th (1985): Pasir Ris
17th (1985): Choa Chu Kang
18th (1995): Sengkang
19th (1995): Sembawang
20th (1998): Punggol
21st (future): Tengah

* Ayer Rajah New Town was planned as the 6th New Town in 1973, but was reduced to an estate in 1975.
^ Jurong East New Town and Jurong West New Town are originally planned as a single New Town; Jurong New Town was split in 1982.


Singapore Districts: Contents   © 文彬 2004~2012. All rights reserved.